The Board has made every effort to include the information you need to apply for licensure on this website. You can visit our Help Center, FAQs and Resources page for frequently asked questions, links, forms, applications and other helpful information.
New Graduates: Important Information to Expedite Licensure
If you expect to soon earn your RRT credentials, it is recommended you only submit your application for RRT. Submitting a CRT application first, then requesting a RRT license results in additional processing that can delay the issuance of your license.
Florida law provides that an initial application must be reviewed within 30 days. Listed below is the current average number of days at which staff are processing each application type.
Endorsement Licensure Requirements:
Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) or Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT)
- The applicant holds the “Certified Respiratory Therapist” or the “Registered Respiratory Therapist” credential issued by the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC), or an equivalent credential acceptable to the Board; or
- The applicant holds certification, or the equivalent, to deliver respiratory care in another state and such certification was granted pursuant to requirements determined to be equivalent to, or more stringent than, the requirements in Florida.
- The applicant is not otherwise disqualified by reason of a violation of Chapter 456, or Chapter 468, Part V, Florida Statutes, or the rules promulgated thereunder.
All Applicants Must Submit the Following:
- All questions on the application must be answered and any “yes” answers on the “Personal” “Criminal” or “Medical” History sections must be accompanied by a written statement.
- Proof of having passed the NBRC exam: A certified respiratory therapist (CRT) or a registered respiratory therapist (RRT) who has passed the NBRC exam must contact the NBRC and have an official letter of verification forwarded to our office. Neither a copy of the NBRC passing scores, a copy of the credential nor a wallet card will be accepted, only the official letter of verification from the NBRC. Their website is www.NBRC.org or you may call them at (913) 895-4900 or Toll free (888) 341-4811.
- Other state licenses you currently hold or have held, regardless of status must be verified. You must notify the licensing state and pay any fees required by that state for this service.
- Please Note: As of July 1, 2016, the 2-hour Prevention of Medical Error course is no longer required as part of the initial application for licensure process. (Chapter 456.013(7), Florida Statutes).
Additional Education Requirements:
- An applicant who has not practiced respiratory care for 2 years or more must complete a Board-approved comprehensive review course within two (2) years immediately prior to the filing of the licensure application or be recredentialed in the level in which he or she is applying to practice in order to ensure that he or she has the sufficient skills to re-enter the profession. Board-approved comprehensive course means any course or courses which includes, at a minimum, fourteen (14) hours in the topics and numbers of hours as follows:
- Patient assessment 3 hours
- Hemodynamics 2 hours
- Pulmonary Function 1 hour
- Arterial blood gases 1 hour
- Respiratory equipment 2 hours
- Airway Care 1 hour
- Mechanical ventilation 2 hours
- Emergency care/special procedures 1 hour
- General respiratory care (including medication) 1 hour
Out-of-State Telehealth Provider Registration
The out-of-state telehealth provider registration is for health care practitioners licensed outside of Florida ONLY. Florida licensees can already provide telehealth services to patients in Florida that they can treat in person.
Health care practitioners with an out-of-state license or certification that falls under section 456.47(1)(b), F.S, qualify for an out-of-state telehealth provider registration number when they meet the following requirements:
- Submit the completed Application for Out-of-State Telehealth Provider Registration;
- Maintain an active, unencumbered license from another state, the District of Columbia, or a possession or territory of the United States (license verification is required);
- Not have a pending investigation, discipline, or revocation on your license within the last five years;
- Designate a duly appointed registered agent for service of process in Florida (see Application for Out-of-State Telehealth Provider Registration)
- Maintain liability coverage or financial responsibility for telehealth services provided to patients in Florida in an amount equal to or greater than Florida health care practitioner requirements
- Not open a Florida office or provide in-person health care services to Florida patients
- Only use a Florida-licensed pharmacy, registered nonresident pharmacy, or outsourcing facility to dispense medicinal drugs to patients in Florida (pharmacists only)
Please visit https://www.flhealthsource.gov/telehealth/ for the application.
Applicants with Criminal History
Any applicant who has ever been found guilty of or pled guilty or no contest/nolo contendre to any charge other than a minor traffic offense must list each offense on the application. Failure to disclose criminal history may result in denial of your application. Each application is reviewed on its own merits.
The Board of Respiratory Care has created guidelines for specific offenses to be cleared in the board office; however, staff cannot make determinations in advance as laws and rules do change over time. Violent crimes and repeat offenders are required to be presented to the Board of Respiratory Care for review. Evidence of rehabilitation is important to the board members when making licensure decisions.
Applicants with prior criminal convictions are required to submit the following documentation to the board:
Self-Explanation – Applicants who have listed offenses on the application must submit a letter in your own words describing the circumstances of the offense.
Final Dispositions/Arrest Records – Final disposition records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on court letterhead sent from the clerk of the court attesting to their unavailability.
Completion of Probation/Parole/Sanctions – Probation and financial sanction records for offenses can be obtained at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. Parole records for offenses can be obtained from the Department of Corrections or at the clerk of the court in the arresting jurisdiction. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on court letterhead sent from the clerk of the court attesting to their unavailability.
Letters of Recommendation – Applicants who have listed offenses on the application must submit 3-5 professional letters of recommendation from people you have worked for or with.
Applicants with Disciplinary History
Applicants who have ever been denied licensure, had disciplinary action taken against their license, or have action pending against their license to practice any health care related profession by a licensing authority are required to submit the following documentation to the board:
Self-Explanation – Applicants who have listed disciplinary action on the application must submit a letter in your own words describing the circumstances of the action.
Agency Records – All relevant documentation regarding the action should be sent to the board office by the licensing agency. If the records are not available, you must have a letter on agency letterhead sent from the licensing agency attesting to their unavailability.
Applicants with Health History
Applicants who answer “Yes” to any of the Health History questions on the application are required to submit the following documentation to the board office:
Self-Explanation – Applicants must submit a letter in your own words explaining the medical condition(s) or occurrence(s). Include a description of all treatments and diagnoses you have received for any condition(s)/impairment(s) you are/have been treated for. Include all medications prescribed and all physicians/counselors that have provided treatment.
Physician(s) Letter – Applicants must submit a statement from your treating physician(s)/counselor(s) for each condition you are/were being treated for and whether or not you are currently able to safely practice Respiratory Care . The physician’s statement should include all DSM IIIR/ DSM IV, Axis I, II, and III diagnoses.
Health Care Fraud, Disqualification for Licensure, Certificate, or Registration
Effective July 1, 2012, Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes (F.S.), provides that health care boards or the department shall refuse to issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant:
- Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under Chapter 409, F.S., (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S., (relating to fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S., (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction unless the candidate or applicant has successfully completed a drug court program for that felony and provides proof that the plea has been withdrawn or the charges have been dismissed. Any such conviction or plea shall exclude the applicant or candidate from licensure, examination, certification, or registration, unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended:
- For the felonies of the first or second degree, more than 15 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree, more than 10 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- For the felonies of the third degree under section 893.13(6)(a), F.S., more than five years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation;
- Has been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues), unless the sentence and any subsequent period of probation for such conviction or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the date of the application;
- Has been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid program pursuant to section 409.913, F.S., unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid program for the most recent five years;
- Has been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state or Federal Government, from any other state Medicaid program, unless the candidate or applicant has been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years and the termination occurred at least 20 years before the date of the application;
- Is currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities.
Request official Certification from the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC) (www.nbrc.org) be sent directly to our board office.
Request license verification(s) from all states in which you have ever held a license, if applicable. The verification must be sent directly to our board office.
Complete your Florida application online.
If applicants have any affirmative answers in the Criminal, Personal, or Disciplinary sections of the application, submission of the personal statement and supporting documentation can be emailed or faxed to our board office.*
*Any affirmative answers on the initial application to the criminal, disciplinary or personal history sections will require a personal written statement and supporting documentation. This documentation is reviewed to determine if a personal appearance at a board meeting is required.
|New Initial Licensure Fee||$50.00|
|Application Fee||$50.00 (non-refundable)|
|Unlicensed Activity Fee||$5.00|
|Total Fee Due with Application||$105.00|
Make checks or money orders payable to the “Department of Health.”
Click on Chapter or Section Number to View
Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.)
Rules: Chapter 64B32: Board of Respiratory Care, Florida